Mayor’s Office

Mayor's Welcome!

Welcome to the Village of Covington, Ohio and our official website.  I have had the honor to serve the residents of Covington as the Mayor since 2010 when I was first elected.  Since that time, our Village has grown and changed in so many positive ways.  Covington is a strong small-town community with great residents, businesses, churches, and non-profits.  Covington, being located on US41, US48, and US36 is a crossroads in western Miami County that serves many people from the surrounding counties and allows our businesses to succeed and grow. 

As Mayor, I have prioritized many projects including the creation of Schoolhouse Park, the development of a bike path plan for the Village, and stronger fiscal management of Village funds.  We are working to reinvigorate the Downtown district with new financial mechanisms including a Community Reinvestment Area and Downtown Redevelopment District that will help Covington continue to be a competitive place to start or expand a business. 

This website and the Village’s social media account on Facebook ( will provide you with the most up to date information related to Village business and will hopefully answer many questions you may have about Covington Village government and our departments and services. 

Thank you for visiting our website, please feel free to contact me directly, or any of our Village Staff at the links provided with additional questions.

Click here for more information on Mayor McCord

General Mayor Information

The Village of Covington has a Mayor-Council form of government, where the Mayor is elected to a four year term separately from the six village council members and has separate duties defined in the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) Section 733.24.

Any resident interested in running for elected office must complete their petitions and submit them to the Miami County Board of Elections 90 days before the general election per ORC 3513.263

The next election for Mayor or Council is November 7, 2023 which will include the Mayor (2024-2027) and two Councilmembers (2024-2027).